Suite: Portraits of Josephine

Suite for Wind Quintet

Valerie Coleman

Duration: 14'
Instrumentation:Woodwind Quintet


Suite: Portraits of Josephine is a musical memoir dedicated to the legendary expat entertainer from the Harlem Renaissance who lived in Paris.  This version for woodwind quintet features 4 short movements that chronologically describe the significant milestones high and low in Josephine Baker’s life.

I. Ol’ St. Louis (2:00)
II. Les Milandes (3:15)
III. 1925 Paris (6:39)
IV. Thank You Josephine (2:00)