Portraits of Langston

for Flute, Clarinet in bflat, and Piano (narrator optional)

Commissioned by the Flute-Clarinet Duos Consortium Made possible by the Brannen Cooper Fund

Valerie Coleman

Duration: 16'
Instrumentation:Flute, Clarinet in bflat, and Piano (narrator optional)

Score and Parts


Portraits of Langston is a 6 movement ‘tour de force’ with optional narrator, and is based on the poems of Langston Hughes, his experiences in Paris and Harlem. For the best impact, it is recommended (but not necessary) to perform it with narrator, reading selected Langston Hughes’ poems.┬áDuration: 16 minutes without narrator, est. 22 minutes with narrator.

Score Preview